The Reuther EP is Finished and Mixed

December 3rd, 2014 Comments off

Reuther‘s self-titled three song EP has been completed and is fully mixed.  We shipped it off to Azimuth in New Jersey for mastering tonight.  They promise a quick turnaround time, so the EP should be available for download soon.

Categories: News, Photos, Reuther Tags:

Cheapshow Vocal Tracking is Under Way

November 3rd, 2014 Comments off

Vince popped in to the studio today to start work on vocal tracks for the Cheapshow full-length.  We have had trouble finding time to work on this project, but it is going well, and the full album will be done…  eventually!

Also, Vince hates you.

Categories: Cheapshow, News Tags:

Recording a Three Song EP with Reuther

September 27th, 2014 Comments off

Detroit punk band Reuther came to the studio today to bash out a three song EP.  We tracked drums and bass all day Saturday and will record guitars and vocals on Sunday.

Reuther:  Korey, Dan and Jimmy Vee

Reuther: Korey, Dan and Jimmy Vee

Dan warming up

Dan warming up

Snare mic

Snare mic

Categories: News, Photos, Reuther Tags:

Tracking Cheap(show) Guitars

August 24th, 2014 Comments off

Vince dropped in to re-track his guitars.  We dialed in a great tone on a Fender Blues Deville, pointed an SM57 at the center of one speaker (about 4 inches from the grill) and from there tracking went quite quickly.



I put a Tube Screamer in the signal path just in case some extra dirt was needed, but Vince never used it.  Probably because he hates it (and you).

Categories: Cheapshow, News, Photos Tags:

Cheapshow’s New Record

August 17th, 2014 Comments off

Cheapshow laid down 10 drum tracks with Jordan VonZynda.  We mic’d the kit using the Glyn Johns technique.  Kick, snare, overhead and another mic off the floor tom, pointed at the snare, same distance as the overhead.  The setup was quick and the drums sound great.



Cheapshow is Vincent Troia’s ever evolving music project.  On this album, he will be joined by  Jordan Von Zynda on drums, Alex Errington on guitar, Roger Fruin on bass, and likely a plethora of friends screaming in the background.  No word on the album title, but I suspect it will have something to do with how much Vince hates you.

Categories: Cheapshow, News, Photos Tags:

Saving Daylight Released as a Stream on SoundCloud

May 6th, 2014 Comments off

Due North released a digital stream of Saving Daylight on the SoundCloud today.

Stream the full album here.

For me, the standout track is “If I Fall Asleep,” a deeply personal song written by Eric Plunkard.

Categories: News, Releases, Stream Tags:

Saving Daylight Is Off To Mastering

April 9th, 2014 Comments off

The new Due North album, Saving Daylight is finished and has been sent off to be mastered by Mark Michalik in Chicago, IL.

Saving Daylight

Saving Daylight

Updated Track Order:

  1. Something Dark
  2. Porcelain
  3. Through the Night
  4. Two Strikes
  5. Everything I’m Not
  6. All You Know
  7. As the Mercury Falls
  8. Fairweather
  9. Empty Hands
  10. Don’t Be Afraid
  11. Goodbye To All That
  12. If I Fall Asleep
Categories: Due North, News, Photos Tags:

Saving Daylight Video Trailer

April 6th, 2014 Comments off

Eric put together this fantastic trailer for the new record, Saving Daylight.

The album is slated to be released on May 9th 2014.

Categories: Due North, News, Video Tags:

Finishing Touches

April 5th, 2014 Comments off

It has been about 4 months since we started making the new Due North record at Drifting Sun Sound. The nasty winter slowed us down more than I care to think about, but we worked as often as we could, and put in a lot of effort. We could have taken shortcuts and used crutches like AutoTune, but that is not the kind of record any of us wanted to make.

Tonight, we put what may be the finishing touches on the best project I have ever been a part of. I really hope a lot of people hear this album. The song writing is great and the nerves touched are raw. But even if nobody but us cares, I am proud of my friends Eric, Roger Jordan and Jordan, and honored to be a part of making their artwork come to fruition.

The album will be called Saving Daylight and the current track list is as follows:

  1. Something Dark
  2. Porcelain
  3. All You Know
  4. Two Strikes
  5. Through the Night
  6. Goodbye To All That
  7. Don’t Be Afraid
  8. Empty Hands
  9. Fairweather
  10. As the Mercury Falls
  11. Everything I’m Not
  12. If I Fall Asleep
Categories: Due North, News Tags:

Ryan Whyte Maloney Released a Very Old Track on SoundCloud

March 27th, 2014 Comments off

Ryan Whyte Maloney, who recorded at Drifting Sun way back when it was still in Traverse City, MI, posted a very old track from our session in 1999.  “Tearing Up My Ass,” a parody of an N’Sync song that his band, Bacchanalia, was recorded during a session containing several 311 covers and an original tune “Closed Mind.”  If I can find the original multi-track to “Closed Mind,” I may take a whack at remixing it since it was a pretty good song.  Anyway, the recording is not great, but it is a pretty good snapshot of my recording and mixing skills in the late 90s, as well as a peek into the unrefined raw talent that Ryan has now honed into a craft.  Ryan is currently a contestant on NBC’s “The Voice.”

Categories: News, Stream Tags: